2021 Annual Meeting Press Release

Monday, January 31, 2022

Philanthropy Missouri Celebrates Growth at 51st Annual Meeting

Philanthropy Missouri (PhilMO) convened grantmakers virtually from across the state for its Annual Meeting on Friday, January 28. The Annual Meeting theme — Growth Mindset — was inspired by how grantmakers navigate challenges in their work, and the power in centering progress over perfection as philanthropic professionals. The event opened with guided networking, followed by remarks regarding Philanthropy Missouri’s first year of cross-state expansion, achievements, and board elections. Special guest Marcus Walton, President & CEO of Grantmakers for Effective Organizations (GEO), partnered with PhilMO to provide an interactive discussion keynote on the crucial topic of personal growth as grantmakers, including how to apply a Growth Mindset to move meaningful progress.

CEO Michelle Miller spoke to Members’ vital work, noting “PhilMO Members represent an estimated $79.8 billion in annual regional giving. Your contributions impact our state in many significant ways, and your strategic and mindful philanthropy supports organizations that address Missouri’s most pressing needs. Along the way, you help to support the creation of jobs, strengthen the economy, and foster innovation. Thank you for your work, and the brilliance you bring to the sector and to our PhilMO community.”

Throughout 2021, Philanthropy Missouri welcomed eleven new organizational Members from across the state. As observed by Board Chair Jane Callahan, “Philanthropy Missouri has made impressive strides in our statewide expansion work. This year marks our largest number of members in over a decade. We are delighted to welcome these new members from throughout the state to learn together and grow our impact as a sector.”


Following Board of Directors elections, Callahan and Miller welcomed three additions to the Philanthropy Missouri Board for a three-year term:
•    Sarah Bowman, PNC
•    Rita Cortés, Menorah Heritage Foundation
•    Gwen Wurst, Greater Kansas City Community Foundation

The following two PhilMO Directors were elected to serve a second three-year term:
•    Angela Brown, St. Louis Regional Health Commission
•    Barbara Carswell, YouthBridge Community Foundation

PhilMO Board Officers elected for 2022 are:
•    Jane Callahan, JF Roblee Foundation, Chair
•    D-Lori Newsome-Pitts, Ameren, Vice Chair
•    Angela Brown, St. Louis Regional Health Commission, Secretary
•    Emily Koenig, St. Louis County Children’s Service Fund, Treasurer

Two retiring Board Members were recognized for their outstanding service to the organization: Gregory Glore of the Glore Fund and Jenny Hoelzer of Commerce Bank. Philanthropy Missouri’s Annual Meeting was sponsored by Cigna, Emerson, the Enterprise Holdings Foundation, and the Light a Single Candle Foundation. Visit our Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn in the following weeks for more photos and highlights from the event. 


About Philanthropy Missouri
Since 1970, Philanthropy Missouri (formerly known as Gateway Center for Giving) has helped to equip, connect, and energize grantmakers toward thoughtful action and greater impact. As one of many philanthropy-serving associations across the country, we envision a thriving and equitable Missouri, served by a collaborative, purpose-driven, and effective philanthropic sector. Our Members include corporations, family foundations, donor-advised funds, private foundations, tax-supported foundations, trusts, and professional advisors who are actively involved in the philanthropic sector. To learn more, visit www.philanthropymissouri.org.

Find More By:
News Type: